IKY News



Results of the 23rd Programme for Modern Greek Language and Culture (2014-15) 

The Republic of Turkey officially informed the European Commission that its internal legal requirements for the entry into force of the Erasmus+ Agreement had been fulfilled, in accordance with Article 5 of the said Agreement.

Turkey has therefore become an Erasmus+ Programme Country and enjoys all the associated rights and duties, on equal footing with the 28 EU Member States, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and the EFTA countries that are party to the EEA Agreement, namely Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein.

The entry into force of the Agreement follows its signature on 19 May, as well as its ratification by the Turkish Council of Ministers and publication in the Official Gazette of 17 June (reference no. 2014/6458). The date of the entry into force is 18 June 2014.

On 19 June 2014, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Montenegro respectively signed an Agreement establishing their partial participation in 'Erasmus+': the Union programme for education, training, youth and sport (2014-2020).
The Agreements were signed on the occasion of the 3rd Ministerial Meeting of the Western Balkans Platform on Education and Training (WBPET), which took place in Brussels on 19-20 June and convened the Ministers and Deputy Ministers of the region.

The signature of the Agreements brings the three countries one step closer to their partial participation in the Erasmus+ programme. As soon as the signed Agreements enter into force, these countries will be able to participate in those actions not managed by a National Agency, i.e. IT support platforms (including eTwinning ) and support for policy reform. During this period, institutions and organisations in these countries will also benefit as partner countries of the external cooperation activities, i.e. higher education and youth mobility to and from the EU, and capacity building in the fields of higher education and youth.

Serbia's Agreement entered into force a few days prior to the Ministerial Conference, on 11 June 2014. The Agreement was signed by the Serbian authorities on 25 April and counter-signed by the European Commission on 11 June, which is also the date of entry into force. As is the case for Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Montenegro, the Agreement provides for Serbia's partial participation in Erasmus+.

The Programme of the Greek Language and Culture for the academic year 2013-2014 is organised at the University of Ioannina
Successful candidates will receive a detailed file from the IKY and the University of Ioannina



The State Scholarships Foundation (I.K.Y.) announces that it will offer up to fifty (50) scholarships to foreigners (or foreign nationals of Greek descent) from countries worldwide in order to attend courses and seminars in the Modern Greek Language and Culture.

Learn more

A new round of International Scholarships funded by the State Scholarships Foundation has now opened, as follows:

  • up to fifteen (15) scholarships to nationals (foreigners or / of Greek origin) of Balkan and Eastern European countries (non-member states of the European Union), Asia, Africa and Latin America and
  • up to fifteen (15) scholarships to nationals (foreigners or / of Greek origin) of Greek origin) of the European Union Member States, Iceland, Norway, Switzerland, U.S.A., Canada, Japan and Oceania, for studies in Greece, beginning in the academic year 2013-2014.

The scholarships offered to graduates wishing to study at a Greek state University or Research Institution:

1. to undertake postgraduate studies (Master's and PhD Degrees),

2. to pursue a postdoctoral research,

3. to collect research data,

    in any field of study

4. to follow Greek studies or

5. to specialise in Fine Arts

The scheme is open to those who do not hold Greek nationality.

The closing date for applicants is 26 July 2013

The call for proposals and the application form are available on the IKY website at


The European Commission is supporting the policy of promoting multiculturalism and multilingualism in countries participating in joint European activities. Especially the Lifelong Learning Programme/ Erasmus continues for 2013/14 to fund the organization of Erasmus Intensive Language Courses  (EILC).

The 2013/14 courses will be organized in two phases (before the beginning of the winter semester 2013 - summer period and before the beginning of the spring semester 2014 - winter period) in the following countries for the eligible languages in brackets:

Belgium (Dutch), Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus (Greek), Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland (Finnish and Swedish), Greece (Greek), Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, the Netherlands (Dutch), Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Turkey, Spain (Basque, Catalan, Galician and Valencian), Switzerland (Italian).

Greece participates successfully in the EILC and Erasmus programme as host organizing country for Erasmus students.

Interested in applying to organize Erasmus Intensive Language Courses (EILC)?

Interested in attending ERASMUS Intensive Language Courses (EILC) in one of the eligible countries?

Page 2 of 2
 iky-facebooktwitter icongplusnk.jpgiky-youtubelinkediniky.pnginstagram-iky.pngiky rss